Surgery

The vast majority of surgical procedures are done in the office by Dr. Lefay or in collaboration with the best specialists. These include sterilization, dermatological, dental, ophthalmic, orthopedic or oncological surgeries.

Dr. Lefay accords high priority to the comfort of the animal and favors minimal intervention.

Indeed, oriented from his first years of practice to a more “responsible” medicine, Dr. Franck Lefay avoids as much as possible an “arms race” yet so often practiced in the veterinary world. Not wishing to reduce its role to an essentially technical dimension with prescription of expensive and often not very useful examinations (scanners, complex blood tests, etc.), it will give over the years, an increasingly important place in the clinical sense and in human contact, while calling on highly competent specialists depending on the situation.

Frequently asked questions

We try to answer below your most frequently asked questions about the surgical procedures of your pet.

My dog must undergo anesthesia, what are the dangers?

In anesthesiology as in any surgery act, zero risk does not exist. However, tremendous progress has been made in recent years and anesthesia is now very safe. We use in the office new molecules for the premedication which makes it possible to divide by 2 or even 3 the dose of anesthetic products without harming the comfort of the animal. We strive to minimize the pain of the animal by including morphine derivatives during each anesthesia.

My dog is heart failure and kidney failure, can he be anesthetized?

Each case is different and a medical examination is necessary to answer precisely your question, but in the vast majority of cases, your dog can be operated with a very high security. We will adapt our protocol to your dog. We strongly recommend that you perform a pre-anesthetic blood test to take no unnecessary risk.

Do you perform all the surgical operations?

We operate every day and perform most common surgeries. For very specific operations, I bring a specialist to my office and we work together, or I recommend you to consult him.

Practically how is surgery performed?

You must bring your pet on an empty stomach in the morning at 9:00am. We perform a blood test – if you have given us your consent – then we premeditate your pet before anesthetizing him. We shave and disinfect your pet while Dr. Franck Lefay gets ready (washing hands, etc.). Sterile gloves, a sterile field and equally sterile instruments are SYSTEMATICALLY used regardless of the importance of surgery.

For any additional question, do not hesitate to contact us. We know that any surgery on your pet is worrisome for you and we will provide you with the necessary information to reassure you.

Chirurgie

La grande majorité des actes chirurgicaux est effectuée au cabinet par le Dr Lefay ou en collaboration avec les meilleurs spécialistes. Citons, entre autres, les stérilisations, les chirurgies dermatologiques, dentaires, ophtalmologistes, orthopédiques ou cancérologiques.

Le Docteur Lefay accorde une place privilégiée au confort de l’animal et privilégie les interventions minimalistes.

En effet, orienté dès ses premières années de pratique vers une médecine plus « responsable », le Docteur Franck Lefay évite le plus possible une « course aux armements » pourtant si souvent pratiquée dans le monde vétérinaire. Ne désirant pas réduire son rôle à une dimension essentiellement technique avec prescription d’examens onéreux et souvent peu utiles (scanners, examens sanguins complexes, etc.), il accordera au fil des ans, une place de plus en plus importante au sens clinique et au contact humain, tout en faisant appel à des spécialistes hautement compétents selon les situations.

Questions fréquemment demandées

Nous essayons de répondre ci-dessous à vos questions les plus fréquentes sur les interventions chirurgicales de vos animaux.

Mon chien doit subir une anesthésie, quels en sont les dangers?

En anesthésiologie comme dans tout acte de la vie, le risque zéro n’existe pas. Cependant d’énormes progrès ont eu lieu ces dernières années et les anesthésies sont maintenant très sures. Nous utilisons au cabinet de nouvelles molécules pour la prémédication ce qui permet de diviser par 2 voire par 3 la dose de produits anesthésiants sans nuire au confort de l’animal. Nous nous efforçons de minimiser le plus possible la douleur de l’animal en incluant des dérivés morphiniques lors de chaque anesthésie.

Mon chien est cardiaque et insuffisant rénal, peut-il être anesthésié ?

Chaque cas est différent et un examen médical est nécessaire pour répondre précisément à votre question, mais dans la très grande majorité des cas, votre chien pourra être opéré avec une très grande sécurité. Nous adapterons notre protocole à votre chien. Nous vous recommanderons très fortement d’effectuer un bilan sanguin pré-anesthésique pour ne prendre aucun risque inutile.

Effectuez vous toutes les opérations chirurgicales ?

Nous opérons chaque jour et réalisons la plupart des chirurgies courantes. Pour des opérations très pointues, je fais venir un spécialiste à mon cabinet et nous opérons ensemble, ou bien je vous recommande d’aller le consulter.

Pratiquement comment se déroule une chirurgie ?

Vous devez apporter votre animal à jeun le matin à 9 heures. Nous pratiquons un examen sanguin – si vous nous avez donné votre accord – puis nous prémédiquons votre animal avant de l’anesthésier. Nous le rasons, le désinfectons pendant que le Dr Lefay se prépare (lavage des mains, etc.). Des gants stériles, un champ stérile et des instruments tout aussi stériles sont SYSTEMATIQUEMENT utilisés quelle que soit l’importance de la chirurgie.

Pour toutes autres questions complémentaires, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter au cabinet. Nous savons que tout acte chirurgical sur votre animal est inquiétant pour vous et nous saurons vous apporter les informations nécessaires pour vous rassurer.